ACE Qualifications 2016-10-21T21:38:21+00:00

A.C.E. Qualifications

When homeschooling families look to the future one of the problems they anticipate is the next step once they graduate. If a young person has the ability and desire to go to university or polytechnic how will they be received when they apply? Anybody can present their case for entry but admissions personnel find it difficult to assess courses they don’t know. In New Zealand we have a unique situation whereby our New Zealand A.C.E. Academic Council has had the A.C.E. NZ Year 13 Certificate accepted as a suitable qualification to gain admission into New Zealand universities.

A.C.E. Certificates for Secondary  Students

A.C.E. NZ does not follow the NCEA system for secondary qualifications, but offers their own academic qualifications. These A.C.E. NZ certificates are recognized by New Zealand universities for entrance to their programmes. The New Zealand Vice Chancellors’ Committee has given their endorsement of the Year 12 and 13 Certificates and these are quoted below.

Academic Certificates

NZ Year 11 Certificate of Academic Achievement (17 credits)

Students who have gained this certificate have demonstrated their ability to achieve Year 11 (i.e. 5th form work) in various core subjects. It is expected that students who have gained this certificate would have the ability to perform at the same level as students who have achieved the NCEA Level 1 standard, in most core subjects.

NZ Year 12 Certificate of Academic Achievement (23 credits)

Students achieving this certificate will have added 6 more credits to their Year 11 Certificate. At least 3 of these credits must be at Year 12 level indicated by a +.

The Vice-Chancellors’ Committee advises that a student with a Year 12 Certificate is eligible to be considered for discretionary entrance by a New Zealand university.

NZ Year 13 Certificate of Academic Achievement (29 credits)

Students with this certificate will have added 6 more credits to their Year 12 Certificate. At least 4 of these credits must be in subjects designated Year 13 (seventh form) level. The NZVCC states:

This is to certify that the Year 13 Certificate of the Accelerated Christian Education (ACE) is accepted by the New Zealand universities for admission ad eundem statum at entrance level. This means that for the purpose of entrance to a university the qualification is deemed to be equivalent to the officially-established common entrance standard in this country.”

Year 13 Academic Certificate with Honours

Students who achieve a Year 13 Academic Certificate with 5 subjects at the Year 13 Level, with a PACE test score of at least 93% in each of those 5 subjects, will be awarded this certificate with Honours. The ACE Academic Council of New Zealand considers this level of performance to be outstanding.

Achievement Certificates

The A.C.E. certificates of achievement are simply a record of work completed and cater for students who may not qualify for an academic certificate.

NZ Certificate of Achievement (minimum) 5 credits

NZ Certificate of Achievement 1: 15 credit

NZ Certificate of Achievement 2: 20 credits

NZ Certificate of Achievement 3: 25 credits

Length of Time Needed to Achieve these Certificates

These times are averages as students work through the PACEs at their own speed.

Once the NZ Year 11 Academic Certificate has been completed, six more credits must be added to gain a NZ ACE Year 12 Academic Certificate, and a further six credits at the appropriate level for the NZ Year 13 Academic Certificate.

Achieving the Year 11 would normally take three years for an average student, but students who are motivated and academically well disciplined, may possibly complete the requirements in less time.

The Year 12 and the Year 13 certificates take approximately a further year of study each, making the Year 12 a four year course and the Year 13 a five year course of study.

There are some conditions set down for each step.

Institutions of Higher Learning which have Accepted Students with ACE Certificates


  • University of Auckland
  • University of Otago
  • University of Canterbury
  • Victoria University of Wellington
  • Lincoln University
  • University of Waikato
  • Massey University
  • Auckland University of Technology


  • UCOL: Palmerston North, Wanganui and Wairarapa
  • Otago Polytechnic
  • Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology
  • Tai Poutini Polytechnic
  • Eastern Institute of Technology


  • Manukau Institute of Technology
  • Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology
  • Wairiki Institute of Technology
  • North Tech.


  • Bethlehem Tertiary Institute
  • Seventh Day Adventist Teachers’ Training College
  • Laidlaw College
  • Natcoll Design Technology


  • NZ Army
  • Royal NZ Air Force
  • NZ Royal Navy